Assam boxer Lovlina Borgohain to be conferred with Arjuna Award


Guwahati: Assam Boxer Lovlina Borgohain  to be conferred with prestigious Arjuna Award. 

Lovlina was recommended by the selection committee of the Union Sports Ministry for the prestigious award on Tuesday. Union Minister for Youth Affairs and Sports.

A total of 29 atheletes have been recommended from across the country for the prestigious Arjuna Award. The list includes Indian cricketer Ishant Sharma, Atanu Das, Deepika Thakur, Deepak Hooda, Divij Sharan, Mirabai Chanu, Sakshi Malik, and three Paralympians.

Lovlina in the 69 kg weight category has become the first woman from Assam to qualify for the Olympics. After Shiva Thapa she is and the second boxer from the state to represent the country at the Olympics.

Earlier, Lovlina won a gold medal at the 1st India Open International Boxing Tournament held in New Delhi and a silver medal at the 2nd India Open International Boxing Tournament held in Guwahati. She won a bronze medal at the 2019 AIBA Women’s World Boxing Championships held in Ulan-Ude, Russia. Lovlina was born on 2 October 1997, and hails from Golaghat district of Assam.

The other 5 sports persons from Assam who have received the Arjuna Award include Bhogeswar Baruah, Monalisa Baruah Mehta, Jayanta Talukdar, Shiva Thapa and Hima Das.

National Sports Awards which include the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna award, the Arjuna award, the Dronacharya award, and the Dhyan Chand award, are conferred on athletes every year by the President of India at the Rashtrapati Bhavan on August 29, the National Sports Day.