Assam: 19 personalities to be conferred with honorary awards today


Guwahati: Recognizing the outstanding contribution towards society, the Assam government will be honouring 19 personalities today with the Assam Vaibhav, Assam Gaurav and Assam Saurav awards.

The awards will be presented by Governor Professor Jagdish Mukhi in presence of Chief Minister Dr. Himanta Biswa Sarma around 3 pm in a grand ceremony to be held at Srimanta Sankardev Kalakshetra, Guwahati today.

The awards will be conferred to the recipients for their exemplary contribution in the field of administration, health, education, entrepreneurship, farming and more.

The Assam Baibhav award, the first-ever highest civilian award of the state, will be conferred to Tata Group Chairman Ratan Tata, whereas, five personalities will be awarded Assam Saurav, and 13 others will be conferred the Assam Gaurav award.

Notably, Olympic medalist Lovlina Borgohain and renowned artist Neelkamal Baruah are among the recipients of the Assam Saurav award.

Addressing the media ahead of the event on Sunday, Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma stated that Ratan Tata will not be physically present in the program owing to health issues.