APSC Scam: Arrested officers produced in court


The 19 ACS-APS officials, who were arrested by the Dibrugarh Police on Wednesday, are produced before a Special Court in Guwahati on Thursday. All the 19 officials including 8 women were arrested yesterday after summoning them for handwriting test.

Meanwhile, the Dibrugarh Police have hinted that more arrests are likely to be made in the coming days. Police had earlier identified 25 officers of the 2015 batch who had bribed APSC officials to get jobs through doctored answer scripts. Out of those 25 officials, 13 were in Assam Civil Services, seven in Assam Police Services and the rest are in allied civil services.

The arrested officers are Suranjita Hazarika (DTO), Utpal Bhuyan (ACS), Barnali Das (ACS), Susovan Das (ACS), Dhruvojyoti Chakraborty (ACS), Manzoor Ilahi Laskar (ACS), Moon Mazoomdar (ACS), Mustafa Ahmed Borbhuyan (ACS), Saibur Rahman Borbhuyan (ACS), Monika Teronpi (ACS), Ganesh Chandra Das (ACS), Srabanti Sen Gupta (ACS), Deepsikha Phukan (ACS), Leena Krishna Kakati (ACS), Gulshan Daolagpu (APS), Pallabi Sharma (APS), Bhargav Phukan (APS), Rituraj Neog (Tax Superintendent) and Nipon Kumar Pathak (Tax Inspector).

Among the arrested officials are a few high-profile names, including Pallabi Sharma — Tezpur MP RP Sharma’s daughter — Monika Teronpi, a relative of BJP leader and former Karbi Anglong Autonomous Council (KAAC) CEM Joyram Engleng.

Police are likely to seek a 14-day- custody.

More details awaited.