AIUDF MLA Phanidhar Talukdar resigns, to join BJP today


Guwahati: Phanidhar Talukdar has tendered his resignation as MLA from Bhabanipur constituency in Assam.

Talukdar submitted his resignation as MLA to Assam Assembly speaker Biswajit Daimary on Wednesday morning.

Phanidhar Talukdar stepped down as an MLA just a day after quitting the AIUDF.

The former AIUDF MLA is all set to join the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) later on Wednesday.

Talukdar also met top Assam BJP leaders, including Chief Minister Dr. Himanta Biswa Sarma, on Wednesday morning.
Taking to his Twitter CM Sarma wrote, “The faith of leaders across political spectrum in Hon PM Sri @narendramodi continues to grow. Happy to have met Hon MLA of Bhabanipur Sri Phanidhar Talukdar, who resigned from @AIUDFOfficial & will join @BJP4Assam later today. I welcome him to our Pariwaar. @JPNadda @blsanthosh.”

Talukdar is the third legislator after Rupjyoti Kurmi and Sushanta Borgohain resigned from their respective parties to join hands with the saffron party.

Phanidhar Talukdar is a first-time MLA from the AIUDF, who won the recently held Assembly elections in Assam from Bhabanipur constituency.