After Susmita Dev, top Congress members from Silchar to join TMC


Guwahati: At least 34 Congress leaders and party workers have resigned from the party’s primary membership and have pledged to strive to build The All India Trinamool Congress (TMC) at the grassroots level in Barak Valley.

The move comes just days after former All India Mahila Congress Chief and ex-Silchar MP Sushmita Dev tendered her resignation from her post and subsequently joined TMC in Kolkata.

Rahul Alam Laskar, general secretary (admin) of the Silchar DCC, Rajesh Deb, general secretary (organization) of the Silchar DCC, Papan Deb, general secretary of the Silchar DCC, Anupam Paul, president of INTUC Cachar, Sajal Banik, president of the Silchar Town Congress Committee, Shyam Sundar Kalwar, and others are among those who have quit the Congress party.

Papan Deb said, “We have experienced how the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and even the Congress have placed roadblocks in the path of Barak Valley development, which is terrible. However, the efforts of the TMC chairman and West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee have encouraged us. ”

“I believe that individuals with strong ties to the former Silchar MP, as well as those who are affiliated with the Congress party in some way, will eventually join the AITC and cooperate with us,” Deb added.

Bengal CM Banerjee is expected to visit Silchar in the next two months, said Deb.

He further went on to say, “We would not wait to be enrolled into the AITC. Sushmita Dev, our party’s leader, has joined the party, and we’ve already begun to work as a cohesive unit for the AITC under her leadership.