AAP wins Delhi Civic Polls


The AAP has won the elections to the Municipal Corporation of Delhi (MCD election), dislodging the BJP from power after 15 years. The Arvind Kejriwal-led party has won 135 seats, well past the halfway mark in the 250-member civic body, as against the BJP’s 97. Congress has won from six wards. Votes are still being counted.

Elections to the 250 wards in the national capital were held on December 4. A total of 1,349 candidates contested the elections, the first since three civic bodies were unified earlier this year. In 2017, BJP had won 181 of the (then) 270 municipal wards while AAP could secure only 48 and Congress finished third with 30.