14 IIT Guwahati students selected for Prime Minister’s Research Fellows scheme


GUWAHATI: A total of 14 students from the Indian Institute of Technology, Guwahati (IITG) have been selected for the Prime Minister’s Research Fellows (PMRF) scheme this year.

The PhD students selected for the PMRF fellowship are pursuing research at various departments and centres such as Departments of Design, Mechanical Engineering, Electronics and Electrical Engineering, Physics, Chemistry, and the Centres for Nanotechnology, Rural Technology, Energy and Environment.

“This initiative by the Centre will attract the best talent from the country for pursuing high-end research at IIT Guwahati and realise the vision of the Prime Minister for multidisciplinary technology development and self-sustenance (Atmanirbhar) through innovation,” IITG Director Prof T G Sitharam said.

It is to be mentioned that, The Prime Minister’s Research Fellows (PMRF) scheme was announced in the 2018-2019 Budget and has been designed for improving the quality of research along with providing unparalleled research opportunities in various higher educational institutions in the country. The scheme is administered by the Ministry of Education and aims to propel and promote the growth of engineers and scientists through constant annual reviews and weightage recorded in accordance with the publication in reputed journals and conferences.


The students who have been selected for the PMRF scheme 2020 are:

Name of the PhD student


Neelarnab Dutta Department of Design
Rupresha Deb Department of Mechanical Engineering
Jegyasu Department of Electronics and Electrical Engineering
Rajnandan Das Department of Physics
Samik Mitra Department of Physics
Sampreet Kalita Department of Physics
Subhankar Biswas Department of Chemistry
Tripti Paul Department of Chemistry
Kumudhini Akasapu Centre for Rural Technology
Souradeep Dey Centre for Nanotechnology
Ankit Chowdhury Centre for Nanotechnology
Kakali Borah Centre for Energy
Himadree Das Centre for Environment
Aniket Banerjee Centre for Environment